Governing Body

 Newmarket Academy


1. The name of the school is Newmarket Academy 

2. The academy is part of the Samuel Ward Multi Academy Trust 

3. The name of the governing body is “The governing body of Newmarket Academy” 

4. The governing body shall consist of: 

* 1 Trust Governor 

* 9 Co-opted Governors 

* 2 Parent Governors 

* 2 Staff Governors, one of which must be the Principal 

5. Total number of governors will be 14 

6. The term of office of all governors is four years. 

7. This instrument of government comes into effect on 09.03.2017 

8. This instrument was agreed by the governing body at the meeting on 09.03.2017 

9. A copy of the instrument must be supplied to every member of the governing body.


Membership of the governing body as at 09.03.2017 

Trust governor: 

Mr Paul Reed 

Co-opted Governors: 

Mr Michael Jefferys 

Mr Myles Stacey 

Mr William Gittus 

Mr Robert Voss 

Miss Sophie Gynn 

Mr Andy Prestoe 

Mr Darren Woodward 

2x vacancies 

Parent Governors

Mrs Marjorie Davis 

1x Vacancy 

Staff Governors 

Mr Nick Froy 

Ms Amanda Clarke 

Howard Lay – Executive Head 

Associate Governor 

Mrs Claire Lawrence


Newmarket Academy Scrutiny Committee

Terms of Reference

The committee is made up the following governors:- Marjorie Davis, Darren Woodward, Mick Jeffereys, Paul Reed (Chair).

The Link governor of the SLT member will also attend the meeting.

The role of note-taker will rotate.

The committee will meet termly to scrutinise the most recent data available relating to the relevant SLT member’s areas of responsibility.

The key areas of focus will be:

  • Analysis of progress data in all subject areas for all years (including all target groups –PP, EAL, CLA, SEND etc)
  • Evaluation of interventions
  • Learning and teaching in the subject areas (analysis of lesson observations and QA process)
  • Progress of linked year group

The SLT member attending the scrutiny committee will supply a pack of data to the members of the scrutiny committee at least one week in advance of the meeting.

The meeting will last no more than one hour. 



To contact a member of our Governing Body please email: